Quantcast

We had an absolutely amazing time planning our wedding ceremony at kirkpatrick chapel in june 2015. My husband and I are both Rutgers Alumni and this is THE place to get married for former students. We searched all over for the perfect venue and nothing came close to this historic chapel's elegance and charm. The coordinator Patrick Cogan is awesome and so responsive. The day of coordinator for both the rehearsal and wedding day was perfect. She was early, answered all my questions, and set-up exactly what I needed. I wish I could remember her name because she deserves credit, but I was overwhelmed and nervous. They do have time limits for rehearsal and ceremony times but we were able to purchase an extra hour prior to the start of our ceremony for our florist to set-up and the musicians to practice. It's not the cheapest ceremony venue but you do not need to worry about much. I highly recommend this place for anyone.

5.0/5.0
Diana, Wedding Date: 06/07/2015

Details

Business Info
What types of events do you service?
Anniversaries, Christenings, Corporate Events, Graduations, LGBTQ Weddings / Ceremonies, Memorials

8 Reviews

4.7/5.0
 
5.0/5.0
Samantha, Wedding Date: 11/12/2016
Quality of Service: 5.0 Responsiveness: 5.0 Professionalism: 5.0 Value: 5.0 Flexibility: 5.0

FYI! Despite what they say when we all went for our college tours, the wait list to get married at the chapel is not 3 years! We got married on November 12, 2016, and booked the chapel less than a year and a half ago. We assumed that we would be on our own with the chapel, much like our 4 years at school, but that was not the case! Patrick is the main contact for weddings at the chapel, and he was very responsive and helpful! If you have the time, please meet with him for a tour!!! There is so much history surrounding the chapel, and Patrick got us so excited to be married here. I even included the history in our programs, which the guests loved. Two students ran the rehearsal and the ceremony, and they were so adorable and very helpful! They cued the pianist, told the bridal party when to head down the aisle, and made my entrance very dramatic. It was very much like getting married in a private church as far as organization and attentiveness. I say this because I was a little nervous at first as far as how smoothly my ceremony would run here. But everything was absolutely perfect and no one should have any hesitation about getting married here!

Services Used: Unique Services

3.8/5.0
Larissa, Wedding Date: 07/30/2016
Quality of Service: 5.0 Responsiveness: 3.0 Professionalism: 3.5 Value: 3.5 Flexibility: 4.0

Kirkpatrick Chapel is a beautiful venue inside and out. You are on your own when it comes to officiant, decorations, and music (they have a organ player for hire). In order to accommodate more couples, each ceremony has a hour and a half time slot. This time slot is for set up, ceremony, clean up, and pictures.

Services Used: Event Venue, Unique Services

5.0/5.0
Ann, Wedding Date: 03/12/2016
Quality of Service: 5.0 Responsiveness: 5.0 Professionalism: 5.0 Value: 5.0 Flexibility: 5.0

We held my daughter’s wedding ceremony at Kirkpatrick Chapel, on the campus of Rutgers University in New Brunswick, NJ. The chapel is an historic and architectural gem, and a beautiful venue – both inside and out – for a wedding. Patrick Cogan, operations manager, was responsive, knowledgeable, kind and helpful, and a pleasure to work with. He made the rental process extremely easy. Nancy, the staff member who was assigned to help us at the chapel on the day of the wedding, was very accommodating. She took great care to make sure the recorded music we provided was timed perfectly to each part of the ceremony.

Some other reviewers have commented on the tight window of 1.5-hour rental time slots. We were fortunate in that we booked the chapel far enough in advance so we were able to change our original rental time period to a later time to better suit our needs. And because the wedding was in March, we happened to luck out that there were no events scheduled at the Chapel before or after ours, so it did make our minimal decorating easier and less rushed.

We were thrilled that Kirkpatrick Chapel, so steeped in historical significance, provided such a beautiful setting to create a very special and memorable wedding ceremony.

Services Used: Unique Services

4.8/5.0
Leah, Wedding Date: 10/10/2015
Quality of Service: 5.0 Responsiveness: 5.0 Professionalism: 5.0 Value: 5.0 Flexibility: 4.0

Kirkpatrick Chapel was pretty much the first thing we chose for our wedding, before we were even engaged. It's not only mere blocks from where my husband & I met while I was an undergrad at Rutgers, but it's the very chapel my parents were wed in 30 years ago!

Patrick Kogan was fabulous - responsive, professional, and friendly. He gave us so much of the historical background when we met with him for a tour, and was just a pleasure to be around. He even set up a very thorough FAQ section on the chapel website, with pew/aisle dimensions and everything! For our rehearsal and wedding ceremony, we were assisted by Lauren, who we adored. She was helpful and cheery, and even jumped in a selfie with my bridesmaids! We also hired their recommended organist, Renee Louprette, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise because the classic organ music we chose meant music cues for bridal party, etc were easy!

I would tell couples to plan ahead for the timeslots - you get to choose an hour & half slot, which sounds like a lot of time, but isn't quite! We chose the 2-3:30pm afternoon slot. Our ceremony start time on invitations was 2:30, meaning the friends who volunteered to set up decor had very little time, maybe 15 min, before guests started arriving. We opted for very little decoration because the chapel itself is so visually striking - just ribbon strung along the pews, our unity ceremony items, and an aisle runner (they did not have time to lay out the aisle runner, but heck I didn't even notice on the day!) Our ceremony *really* started closer to 2:45, was fairly short, and we had just enough time to greet guests and do family photos before our time was up. Not that they would have kicked us off the property had we gone over! They were very fair, but the historic nature of the building and the length of the timeslots meant there were rules to be aware of.

Ultimately, it meant so much to us to have our ceremony in this beautiful and (for us) sentimental chapel.

Services Used: Unique Services

Map